Dr Jorge Meijide Suarez

Royal Society Newton International Fellow

PhD (Prof Mathieu Sollogoub), Sorbonne University

Email: J.Meijide-Suarez ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Dr David Lozano Mena

ERC funded PDRA

Email: D.Lozano-Mena ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Dr Amanda Acevedo-Jake

Marie Sklodowska-Curie PDRA

Ph.D. and M.S. Chemistry (Prof Jeffrey Hartgerink), Rice Univeristy, Houston, TX USA

Research Specialist, Proteomics Core Facility, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC USA

B.Sc. in Chemistry (with Honors) and in Biochemistry (with Honors), College of Charleston, Charleston, SC USA

Email: A.M.Acevedo-Jake ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Amanda Acevedo-Jake

Dr Mathieu Denis

EPSRC Doctoral Prize PDRA

PhD (Prof Steve Goldup), University of Southampton

MSc in Molecular Chemistry (hons) and BSc Degree of Science in Chemistry with distinction (Rank: 4/58), University of Rennes I, France

Email: m.denis (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Mathieu Denis

Dr Mike Jinks

ERC funded PDRA

PhD (Prof Chris Hunter), University of Cambridge

MChem University of Sheffield

Email: M.A.Jinks ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Mike Jinks

Dr Alberto de Juan

ERC funded PDRA

PhD (Dr Emilio Pérez), IMDEA Nanoscience/ Complutense University of Madrid

MSc (Dr Emilio Pérez and Prof Nazario Martín) Complutense University of Madrid

BSc Complutense University of Madrid

Email: A.De-Juan-Garrudo ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Elise Rochette

PhD Students

Zhi-Hui Zhang (Peggy)

4th Year PhD Student (CSC Scholarship)

BSc and MSc from Sun Yat-Sen University, Guangzhou, China.

Email: zz6g15 (at sign) soton.ac.uk


Florian Modicom

4th Year PhD Student

MSc in Molecular Chemistry (hons) (Rank 1/45) and BSc Degree of Science in
Chemistry (Rank: 1/90), University of Rennes I, France

Email: fm6g15 (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Florian Modicom

Ellen Jamieson

3rd Year PhD Student

Mchem in Chemistry (hons), University of St. Andrews

Email: e.m.g.jamieson (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Ellen Jamieson

Shu Zhang

2nd Year PhD Student

BSc Degree of Science in Environmental Chemistry, Nanjing University

Email: Shu.Zhang (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Shu Zhang

Jack Maynard

2nd Year PhD Student

MSci in Chemistry (hons), University of Bristol

Email: jrjm1g17 (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Jack Maynard

Theerapoom Boonprap

2nd Year PhD Student

Bachelor of Science (Chemistry) (hons), Prince of Songkla University

Email: tb2n15 (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Theerapoom Boonprap

Andrew Heard

2nd Year PhD Student

MChem (Hons) University of Warwick (Andrew Dove), with Industrial Experience (DSM Specialty Resins, NL)

Email: a.w.heard (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Andrew Heard

Arnau Rubio Rodriguez

1st Year PhD Student

MSc (Dr Yolanda Díaz and Prof Maribel Matheu) Rovira i Virgili University

BSc Rovira i Virgili University

Email: A.R.Rubio (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Arnau Rubio

Matthew Fitzpatrick

1st Year PhD Student

MSci Chemistry (Hons), Queen’s University Belfast.

Email: M.P.Fitzpatrick (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Matt Fitzpatrick

Federica Rizzi

1st Year PhD Student

MSc in Organic Chemistry, University of Pavia

Email: f.rizzi (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Federica Rizzi-->

Visitors and Project Students

Ryo Furuhash

1st year MSc student from Kanazawa University, Japan funded by the TOBITATE! Young Ambassador Program

furuhashi.r (at sign) stu.kanazawa-u.ac.jp

Maraisa Sachini

Sean Vallely

4th year MChem student (Soton)

Elenor Mary Budgen Strawbridge

4th year MChem student (Soton)

Felix Theobald

3rd year MChem undergraduate project student (Soton)

Email: ft2g16 (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Maraisa Sachini

Jake Peat

3rd year undergraduate project student (Soton)

Ex Group Members

Dr Amanpreet Kaur Chahal

Royal Society-SERB Newton International Fellow

PDRA with Prof. Andrew Abell, The University of Adelaide

PhD (Dr. Navneet Kaur), Panjab University

MSc, Punjabi University Patiala

Email: A.K.Chahal("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Elise Rochette

Dr Jamie Lewis

BSc (hons) and PhD (James Crowley), University of Otago, New Zealand

Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow

Favourite Element: Palladium

Email: jem.lewis ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Jamie Lewis

Dr Marzia Galli

EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellow

PhD University of Southampton

MSc and BSc (hons), University of Rome, La Sapienza

Leonardo da Vinci Schollarship (2012) with Prof. Dr. Erik Van der Eycken at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Email: m.galli (at sign) soton.ac.uk

Marzia Galli

Dr Elise Rochette

MSci (hons), Strathclyde University

PhD (Dr. Rob Stockman), University of Nottingham

PDRA with Prof. David Chen, Seoul National University

Email: e.rochette("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Elise Rochette

Ed Neal

4th Year PhD Student

BSc (hons) University of Bristol
MSc University of Southampton

Favourite Element: Iodine

Email: e.a.neal ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Ed Neal

Dr Catherine Fletcher (2014-2015)

MSChem (hons) and PhD (Varinder Agarwal), University of Bristol

PDRA with Tony Barrett, Imperial College


Favourite element: Boron

Email: c.fletetcher ("at" sign) soton.ac.uk

Cath Fletcher

Jessica Pancholi

4th Year PhD Student

MSci (Hons) in Pharmaceutical Chemistry from QMUL

Favourite Element: Silver

Email: j.pancholi ("at" sign) qmul.ac.uk

Jess Pancholi

Maraisa Sachini

Visiting PhD 4th year student from Diogo Ludkte's Group at UFRGS, Porto Alegre, Brazil

Science Without Borders Funded


Maraisa Sachini

Dr Joby Winn (2012-2014)

MSCi (hons) and PhD (Paul Clarke), University of York


Joby Winn

Robert Bordoli (2010-2014)

Graduated PhD student

MChem (hons) Dunelm

Favourite Element: Seaborgium

Rob Bordoli

Ben Groombridge (2010-2014)

Graduated PhD student (with Dr Igor Larrosa)

BSc (hons) University of Bath

Favourite Element: Francium

Ben Groombridge

Kajally Jobe (2009-2013)

Graduated PhD Student (with Prof Mike Watkinson)

BSc (hons) in Medicinal Biochemistry
MSc in Synthetic Chemistry with Industrial Collaboration

Kajally Jobe

Camille Vanuxem (2011)

Visiting student (ESCOM, France)

Camille Vanuxem

Luca Cera (2010)

Visiting student (Milan, Italy)

Luca Cera

Hicham Lahlali (2010)

Visiting student (ESCOM, France)

Hicham Lahlali

The Group (+Abi) celebrating our Hickinbottom Award
(May 2014)

The Group October 2013

The Group looking their best (October 2013)

The Group October 2013

From left to right at the back: Steve, Sabri (MSci), Ed (PhD), Joby (PDRA), Ben (PhD);
front: Rob (PhD), Jess (PhD), Louisa (MSci), Marzia (PhD), Vaishali (MSc) and Kajally (PhD)